What are the surprises in the 2024 NSW Origin team selection and captaincy decisions?

State of Origin Surprises: Tedesco Out, Edwards In, Madge Shakes Up Blues

The New South Wales Blues have unveiled their 2024 State of Origin squad, with a few unexpected selections and captaincy decisions that have set tongues wagging.

Veterans Dropped, Young Guns Soar

Long-time Origin star James Tedesco has been sensationally dropped from the team, with Penrith’s Dylan Edwards earning a long-awaited debut. The Blues have also included six rookies in their extended squad: Cameron McInnes, Mitch Barnett, Zac Lomax, Jack Hetherington, Jai Arrow, and Bryce Cartwright.

Surprising Captaincy Switch-Up

In a further twist, reports suggest that Jake Trbojevic will be named captain instead of the incumbent Tedesco. Trbojevic has been a consistent performer for the Blues in recent years and would bring both experience and leadership to the role.

McInnes Makes History as Oldest Origin Debutant

At 30 years old, Cameron McInnes will make history as the oldest player to make his Origin debut for the Blues. The Cronulla hooker has been in impressive form this season and deserves his chance to represent his state on the biggest stage.

Edwards Finally Gets His Shot

After years of being on the cusp of Origin selection, Dylan Edwards has finally been given his opportunity. The Penrith fullback has been in scintillating form in 2024 and will be hungry to make a statement in his debut.

Rookie Reserve List

The Blues have also named a 12-man reserve list, which includes Luke Keary, Mitch Barnett, Keaon Koloamatangi, Tyrell Sloan, Lachie Miller, Billy Smith, Jacob Kiraz, Ofahiki Ogden, Bailey Simonsson, Nathan Brown, Lachlan Ilias, and Izaac Thompson.

“We’ve got a good mix of experience and youth in this squad,” Blues coach Michael Maguire said. “We’d like to give some of our young guys a taste of Origin football while still ensuring that we have a solid core of experienced players to lead the team.”

The Blues will be hoping to break their recent drought against Queensland, who have won the last three series. Game 1 of the 2024 State of Origin will be played at Accor Stadium in Sydney on June 5th.

By Divya

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *