What Is the Voting Process for Non-Participating Countries in Eurovision Semi-Finals and Final?

What Is the Voting Process for Non-Participating Countries in Eurovision Semi-Finals and Final?Hosts Julia Sanina (left) and Hannah Waddinghamduring the interval at the semi-final 2 of Eurovision Song Contest at the M&S Bank Arena in Liverpool. Picture date: Thursday May 11, 2023.

Non-Participating Countries Can Now Vote in Eurovision Semi-Finals and Final

The Eurovision Song Contest, a beloved annual musical extravaganza, has witnessed significant changes this year, including the introduction of voting rights for viewers in non-participating countries. This groundbreaking move opens up the contest to a wider global audience, adding an exciting new dimension to the competition.

Online Voting for Non-Participating Countries

In a historic departure from previous practices, fans from countries that do not have participating entries in Eurovision can now cast their votes online. This opportunity grants them nearly 24 hours to support their favorite acts before the commencement of the live semi-finals and the grand final.

Online voting opens immediately after the completion of the second dress rehearsal for each semi-final and the rehearsal for the grand final, remaining open until the live shows begin. Non-participating countries can access the voting platform through the official Eurovision Song Contest app or by following instructions displayed on-screen during the live broadcasts.

Changes for ‘The Big Five’ and Host Nation

Another notable change this year is the decision to have ‘The Big Five’ (France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom) and the host nation (Sweden) perform during the semi-finals. This departure from past practices, where only clips of their rehearsal performances were shown, ensures that all countries compete on a level playing field.

Ebba Adielsson, Executive Producer of the Eurovision Song Contest 2024, explained the rationale behind this change: “We believe this change gives the Big Five countries and the host country a fairer playing field in the Grand Final, as they now have the opportunity to perform ‘for real’ on stage in the semi-finals.”

Benefits for Viewers

These changes not only broaden the reach of Eurovision but also enhance the experience for viewers worldwide. By allowing non-participating countries to vote, the contest becomes more inclusive and allows a wider range of voices to be heard.

Additionally, the opportunity for ‘The Big Five’ and the host nation to perform in the semi-finals adds excitement and ensures that all acts receive equal exposure before the grand final.

Voting Procedure

To participate in the online voting process, viewers in non-participating countries can download the official Eurovision Song Contest app on their iOS, Android, or Windows devices. Once the voting window opens, they can follow the instructions on the app or on-screen to cast their votes.

It’s important to note that each voter can only cast one vote per song, and votes for entries from their own country will not be counted. The results of the online voting will be combined with the votes from the participating countries to determine the qualifiers for the grand final and the eventual winner of the Eurovision Song Contest 2024.

By Divya

Related Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *